Today, I read a book from the Apocrypha. I read the book of Judith.
Of course, I had no knowledge that it even existed until a few days ago. The Bible I and approximately 799,999,999 other people read does not include this book.
Though I understand the "why's" of its exemption from the Protestant and Jewish texts, I do NOT understand why we haven't all been told about it or encouraged to read it.
It's a GREAT BOOK! I liked how one source called it "perhaps the first historical novel." That's how it read to me. It's a great story--full of memorable scenes and characters, including great lines and story "morals."
As I read it on my Iphone this morning, I found myself thoroughly intrigued and highlighting verses throughout this book.
Setting aside the "Is it, or is it not inspired scripture?" debate, I don't know WHY this book hasn't been put in some kind of children's book form and marketed to ALL Christians.
Just because it isn't considered "inspired" doesn't mean it doesn't include a powerful story or valid point. It doesn't mean we can't read it or share it or value it.
I guess what I have to ask is: Why am I only stumbling upon it now?
I told Stephen that I feel like an IDIOT not having known about it before. Why hasn't somebody told me about this book? Did I have to go to Bible School to get this knowledge? Do people think that we are incapable of reading it, outside of its being "inspired," and that's why they don't tell anybody about it, talk about it, refer to it?
We grow up reading a plethora of stories that are absolutely unrelated to God in every way. We see films about winged creatures, talking mice, and magic. We sing nursery rhymes about people living in shoes and witches who eat kids. I'm not bashing that. But the story of Judith is about our Almighty God, His power, His love and commitment to His children, and His usage of society's undervalued to accomplish great feats through His power. WHY AREN'T WE READING THAT?
No comments:
Post a Comment